Live Classrooms are virtual learning environments that allow instructors and students to interact in real-time and will serve as your primary interface for teaching and learning.

In this article, you will learn about all features available in a Live Classroom.


1. Conferencing Controls (Optional)

Conferencing allows you to engage your class via video, audio and / or through screen share.

(From left to right)

Camera - Toggles your camera on / off (Note: Please “Allow” your browser to

access your camera in order to use this function).

Microphone - Toggle your microphone on / off (Note: Please “Allow” your browser to

access your microphone in order to use this function).

Record - Allows you to record your session. Make sure to save the recording by clicking on the button once again BEFORE ending the Live Classroom!

Note: The 'Record' feature is only available on the Google Chrome browser!

Screen share - Enables / disables screen share mode. By enabling screen share, you

will allow the rest of the live classroom to view your entire screen or specific application windows, depending on your preference.

More - Enables to adjust the default conferencing settings, including camera, microphone and speakers used, mute all attendees (instructor function) and toggle video quality.

Network - Provides live feedback on your connectivity and bandwidth

used for the live classroom hosted.

Conferencing is an optional function for a live classroom and you may disable this function when you set up a live classroom.

Click here to learn more about “How do I create a Live Classroom?”.

2. Participant Log (Available to instructors only)

Under the participant log section, you may find a list of students and instructors categorized in separate tabs for your reference.

Activity status - Live classroom participants’ status are defined by the time of last key stroke entered (mouse movements do not count as activities). Under each participant name, you may find the last activity shown.

Blue arrow - Indicates the number of times a participant ran their code in the past 5

minutes.

Red ! circle - Indicates that a student ran a code with error.

Go-to Workspace - Allows instructors to add specific students’ workspace to their “Student Workspace” dashboard. (Please see “3. Workspace tabs - Student Workspace” for more details)

Hand raise - Indicates which student has raised their hand and needs attention.

Chat - Allows instructors to open an "All" chat, alternatively, instructors can navigate to the bottom right of the screen to open chats with specific students.

3. Workspace Tabs

On the workspace tab, you may toggle through the different integrated development environments (“IDEs”) in the live classroom.

Conferencing - Where you can see the live video and presentation feed in the Live Classroom. You can also mute, turn off/on your camera, record, and share your screen in this menu. You may also toggle this section off by clicking "Conferencing" at the top.

Presentation - The blackboard equivalent in the offline live classroom. Anything written in this space is available to all participants.

(Note: When setting up the live classroom, instructors may choose to grant students editing permission on “Presentation”)

My workspace - is a participant’s personal workspace that is only accessible to themselves and the instructor.

Student workspaces (instructor only) - Dashboard for instructors to see students’ activities in real-time. Instructors may choose to view from 1 student workspace to up to 18 student workspaces at once.

In order to add a student’s workspace to the dashboard, simply click the "Go-to Workspace" button in the “Participant log”. Instructors also have full autonomy to edit and run students code in their workspaces.

TIP: You can maximize the workspaces view screen by clicking "View workspaces as full-width cards" on the most right icon beside the Workspaces drop down menu. Alternatively, if you have a duo-screen setup, using the "Companion Tab" could help display student workspaces separately.

4. Integrated Development Environment (“IDE”)

The IDE is the main collaborative working space between participants. Teachers and students may view, collaborate and run code together here. Apart from its core functions, there are also more features to Coding Rooms’ IDE that could help set up and review the progress of a file.

Files - A place where you can see all the files in the Live Classroom.

  1. You can create new files by clicking this button.

  2. You can create new folders by clicking this button.

  3. You can upload files from your computer by clicking this button.

  4. You can download the entire project in a .zip file by clicking this button. You may also download specific files by clicking on the 3 dots next to the desired file.

  5. Playback - Playbacks keystroke by keystroke the history of a specific file. This is particularly useful for instructors to help review students’ code.

TIP: By clicking through students' keystrokes pattern, instructors can not only track students' logic when coding, but also identify any sudden progress in the exercise that could imply potential plagiarism.

Settings Cog - Allows you to change the workspace language, default file, and run configuration.

Event History - Allows you to track the major changes in the Live Classroom along with user details and time stamps.

Run - is the big green magical button that will run your code.

5. Output Display

Located right below the IDE, this section allows you to test your code.

Console - After clicking 'Run,' your program's print statements will appear here.

Shell - Here, you can execute Terminal commands.

Reset Instance - Resets your instances but does not reset the files.

View Desktop - Provides a VNC connection to the Virtual Machine powering your workspace.

6. Administrative Functions

The Administrative Functions are located on the top bar on the live classroom page and are your go-to buttons for quick access to help, sharing and exit.

Help - Opens a key features help box for frequently asked questions and allows you to engage in live support chat.

Public Chat - Opens a chatroom for the entire live classroom.

Share - Provides the URL share link to the live classroom (Note: instructors have the option to share instructor and / or student links)

Exit - Allows participants to leave the live classroom. Instructors may also close out the classroom by clicking “Finish”, which will force all participants out.


For details on related articles on Live Classrooms, please visit below related articles:

Did this answer your question?